VPS AMERICAS CONTINENTAL CHAMPIONS

Date: July 30, 2018 Author: Jeff Thorburn Categories: news
Back

via Vans Canada:

Montreal, QC. (July 29, 2018) – With a stacked field of nearly 100 eager competitors, the 2018 Vans Park Series Americas Continental Championships opened the floodgates to showcase a variety of regional talent in Huntington Beach earlier today. Surpassing the competition and securing their official invites to the 2018 VPS World Championships in China, VPS congratulates Jake Wooten (USA) as the new 2018 VPS Men’s Americas Continental champion, and re-crowns Dora Varella (BRA) as the 2018 VPS Women’s Americas Continental champion, whose consistent performance earned her a back to back event victory. Jake Wooten was undoubtedly the crowd favorite, putting down the run of the day and demonstrating he had the skills to compete with the Pros, while Dora Varella rose to the occasion with amazing lines and incredible tricks that put her on top throughout prelims and finals. Representing the Americas, Wooten and Varella will advance directly into the 2018 VPS World Championships in China this October, bringing them both one step closer to the coveted world championship title.

Up next, the 2018 VPS Women’s Pro Tour open qualifier will commence on Thursday, August 2, expecting an incredible showcase of women’s park terrain skateboarding. Prospective women’s contenders from all over the world will have a chance to compete against top-seeded VPS Women’s Select Pros.

2018 Men’s Americas Continental Championship Results:

  1. Jake Wooten (USA)
  2. Heimana Reynolds (USA)
  3. Ben Hatchell (USA)

2018 Women’s Americas Continental Championship Results:

  1. Dora Varella (BRA)
  2. Arianna Carmona (USA)
  3. Hunter Long (USA)

Vans Park Series, the official park terrain skateboarding World Championships tour, continues a jam-packed week of elite skateboarding action in Huntington Beach, CA as part of the Vans US Open action sports festival. For complete results of today’s competition, visit www.vansparkseries.com for more information.

Vans Park Series Pro Tour, Huntington Beach Schedule

Thursday, August 2

VPS Women’s Pro Tour, Prelims

Friday, August 3

LIVE BROADCAST ON VANSPARKSERIES.COM

VPS Men’s Pro Tour, Prelims

Saturday, August 4

LIVE BROADCAST ON ETN

VPS Men’s Pro Tour, Semi-Finals + Finals

VPS Women’s Pro Tour, Finals

Vans Park Series reveals a brand new, custom-spec concrete park built directly on the sand in Huntington Beach, in conjunction with the Vans US Open, the largest action sports festival in the world. With new and unique elements to challenge and inspire the VPS pros, the park features a subtle twist on the center island jump box that incorporates a jersey-barrier inspired spine, along with a variety of re-designed hips, layback banks, and extensions, all arranged in an open-flow format to allow the riders an abundance of different ways to take over the course.

With thousands of spectators descending upon the Vans US Open, the highly-anticipated summer event will feature an immersive creative experience, filled with world-class surf, skate and BMX competitions, in addition to the interactive Van Doren Village, which will host art exhibitions and hands-on creative workshops for attendees. Visitwww.vansusopenofsurfing.com for more information.

WATCH LIVE BROADCAST ON ETN

Los Angeles – Saturday, August 4, 1PM PDT

New York – Saturday, August 4, 4PM EDT

London – Saturday, August 4, 9PM GMT+1

Hong Kong – Sunday, August 5, 4AM HKT

Sydney – Sunday, August 5, 6AM AEST